Amazing New Science DiscoveriesThe latest scientific discoveries.

First Total Lunar Eclipse of the Year

By: Sara Walter to astronomy

2008 Lunar Eclipse

 

Thats right star gazers, the first total lunar eclipse of 2011 occurs Wednesday at about 1:24p.m. EDT (1724 GMT) and will last until 7:00 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT).  This eclipse will be visible Wednesday evening for eastern South America, western Europe, and the west coast of Africa.  Thursday in the wee hours of the morning this eclipse will be visible to  central Siberia, eastern Mongolia, northeast China, most of Japan, Korea, New Guinea, eastern Australia, and New Zealand.  It will not, though, be visible to North America nor will eastern Australia, eastern Asia, or New Zealand get to see it through to the last stages because it occurs after moon-set.  This lunar eclipse is one of three to occur in June with the last eclipse scheduled for July 1st.  This is a total eclipse which is sandwich between the partial that happened June 1st and the partial scheduled for July1st.  In 100 years there have only been three with the totality period as long as this one and it’s the longest total eclipse in the last 11years. The totality period for Wednesday’s lunar eclipse will be close to 100 minutes.

For further reading please visit:
The Christian Science Monitor

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a comment

Copyright © 2006 - 2011 discoverybuzz.com.